Skip to content


  • IEEE Fellow (Jan. 2018)
    For fundamental contributions in the theory and practice of wireless networks.
    The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an outstanding record of accomplishments. The total number selected in any one year cannot exceed one-tenth of one-percent of the total voting membership. IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of membership and is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement.
  • Distinguished Member of 2016 IEEE Infocom TPC Award (Apr. 2016)
    The distinguished member of the 2016 IEEE Infocom technical program committee (TPC) award is given to a select number of TPC members.
  • ACM Notable Article in Computing – Best of 2013 (Jan. 2014)
    Selection of paper “Modelling BitTorrent-like systems with many classes of users”, W.-C. Liao, F. Papadopoulos, K. Psounis, and C. Psomas, ACM Transactions on Modelling and Computer Simulation, Vol. 23, Issue 2, Article No. 13, May 2013.
  • MEPC Business Plan Competition – 2nd place (Mar. 2013)
    Presentation of SpaceMUX Inc., a USC spinoff startup specializing in advanced physical layer techniques applied to next generation wireless networks.
  • ACM Senior Member (Jan. 2009)
    The Senior Member grade recognizes those ACM members with at least 10 years of professional experience and 5 years of continuous professional membership who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers.
  • IEEE Senior Member (Nov. 2008)
    Qualifications for this distinction are at least ten years of professional practice and five years of significant performance as demonstrated by substantial engineering responsibility or achievement, publication of engineering and technical papers, books or inventions, and the development and teaching of engineering courses.
  • Future of TCP Best Presentation Award (Apr. 2008)
    “Best and Most Compelling Presentation and Demonstration Award” at the networking workshop “The Future of TCP: Train-wreck or Evolution?”held at Stanford University and sponsored by Cisco Systems.
  • Zumberge Faculty Research and Innovation Award (July 2005)
    The James H. Zumberge faculty research and innovation award is granted to a selected number of Professors at the University of Southern California.
  • Charles Lee Powell Scholarship Award (Dec. 2003)
    The Charles Lee Powell award is granted to a selected number of Assistant Professors at the University of Southern California.
  • Illeana and Eric Benhamou Stanford Graduate Fellowship (1997 – 2002)
    Fellowship is awarded for four years to a very select number of PhD students based on academic merit.
  • Best-student National Technical University of Athens award (1997)
    Awarded yearly to the student that graduates with the highest GPA in National Technical University of Athens.
  • Other graduate studies awards (1997 – 1998):
    Regent’s Fellowship by University of California, Berkeley,Charles Lee Powell Foundation Graduate Fellowship by Caltech,Gordon Y. S. Wu Fellowship in Engineering by Princeton University,Sage Fellowship by Cornell University.