Skip to content

Awards and Honors

Member, Academia Europaea, 2023-

Best Paper Award, 30th IEEE International Conference on High Performance Computing, Data, and Analytics, December 2023

Best Paper Award, 19th ACM International Conference on Computing Frontiers, May 2022

2019 Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Best Paper Nominee of IEEE International Conference on Field Programmable Logic and Applications, September 2019

Distinguished Professor, Beihang University (BUAA), Beijing, PRC, Fall 2018

Best Paper of ACM/SIGDA International Symposium on Field-Programmable Gate Arrays, February 2018

Best Paper Nominee of ACM/SIGDA International Symposium on Field-Programmable Gate Arrays, February 2018

Use-Inspired Research Award

    • Prof. Prasanna was awarded the 2017 Use-Inspired Research Award by USC Viterbi School of Engineering for distinguished research on problems with practical significance

Charles L. Weber Outstanding Teaching Assistant Honorable Mention

    • Sanmukh R. Kuppanagiri received the Spring 2017 Honorable Mention for Outstanding work as a Teaching Assistant

Ren Chen’s dissertation nominated for Best Dissertation in EE Department 2016

    • Ren Chen’s Ph.D. dissertation titled “From Universal RAM-based Permutation Network to Optimal Circuits for Data and Signal Processing Algorithms” nominated for Best Dissertation Award in Electrical Engineering (Systems) Department, USC, 2016

Best Paper 1st Runner Up of Procedia Computer Science, September 2016

Distinguished Alumnus Award, University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering, Bengaluru, India

    • For his outstanding contributions to research and education in parallel computation.

2015 W. Wallace McDowell Award, IEEE Computer Society

    • For fundamental algorithmic and application-specific architectural contributions to reconfigurable computing.

Best Paper of the International Conference on Information Systems Security and Privacy, ICISSP ’15

Best Paper of the Next-Generation Networking Symposium, GLOBECOM ’13

One of the Most Significant Papers in FCCM during its First 20 Years, the award presented at FCCM ’13, April 2013

Best Paper Award, HPSR ’12

First Place, IEEE 2012 SCALE Challenge

Best Paper Award, Parallel Computing Area, PDCS ’10

Best Paper Award, HPSR ’10

Distinguished Service Award, IEEE Computer Society, April 2010

    • A lifetime of contributions to International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS).

Fellow, American Association for Advancement of Science, 2010

Best Paper Award, Parallel Computing Area, PDCS ’09

Best Paper Award, Network Performance Area, PDCS ’09

Outstanding Achievement Award, 2009

    • 2009 World Congress in Computer Science, Computer Engineering, and Applied Computing (WORLDCOMP ’09). The citation reads: In Recognition of His Leadership and Outstanding Research Contributions to the Field of Reconfigurable Computing.

Outstanding Engineering Alumnus Award, Pennsylvania State University, 2009

Best Paper Award, CF ’08

Best Paper Award, Architecture Area, IPDPS ’08

TCPP Outstanding Service Award, 2008

ACM Fellow, 2008

Docteur Honoris Causa, University of Geneva, June 2007

Best Paper Award, ICPADS ’06

Best Paper Award, SBAC-PAD ’05

Okawa Foundation Grant, 2005

IEEE Fellow, 1996