National Workshop on Architectural Faculty in Environmental Sustainability Research (WAFES)



This workshop project was sponsored by the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) under award #1916623. We, the Committees and Chair, deeply appreciate this valuable support provided by the NSF Environmental Sustainability Project Director, Dr. Bruce Hamilton, and his backing for the success of this workshop. In addition, the WAFES was possible with the significant supports from several organizations: the Architectural Research Center Consortium (ARCC) supported the WAFES as the Organizing Sponsorship by providing all administrative processes to invite prestigious academic participants to the workshop as well as financial support to run the program on the site. The Department of Architectural Science at Ryerson University, as the Venue Sponsor, provided the facilities to accommodate all events during the workshop. Also, we appreciate the industrial partners’ support from Brandon Tinianov (Vice President, View, Inc.) for the network dinner to help workshop participants build a robust network with other attendees, workshop committees, industrial partners, and keynote speakers. We also appreciate the support of Mr. Jaeyoung Choi (G-SMATT America, Co.) for the hospitality that help make the workshop productive.


We are also very thankful for all of the keynote/luncheon speakers and their inspiring talks: Dr. Lawrence Bank (Georgia Tech), Professor Vivian Loftness (Carnegie Mellon University), Dr. Julian Wang (Pennsylvania State University), Dr. Brandon Tinianov (View, Inc), and Mr. Jaeyoung Choi (G-SMATT America, Co.), and also for the student volunteers: Ezgi Bay (Illinois Institute of Technology) and Jongjoo Kim (University of Southern California).


Chair: Joon-Ho Choi, Ph.D. (Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Research, Architecture, University of Southern California)

Steering Committees: 

  • Simi Hoque, Ph.D. (Associate Professor, Architectural Engineering, Drexel University)
  • Hazem Rashied Ali, Ph.D. (Associate Professor, Architecture, University of Texas, San Antonio)
  • Jeffrey Raven, FAIA (Associate Professor, Architecture, New York Institute of Technology)
  • Douglas Holmes, Ph.D. (Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Boston University)